top of page

Trailblazer Recipients

Since the inception of the Award, JAC has recognized the following Trailblazers:

Richard Simpson - Senior Engineering Director, R&D with Medtronic (2022) Jamaica
Kenneth Joseph - Cultural Musicologist,
Internationally known educator, musician, and conductor of The Steel Pan Music (2022) Trinidad

Dr. Camille Wardrop Alleyne, NASA Rocket Scientist, Internationally-acclaimed speaker and Humanitarian (2019)Trinidad
Dr. Sherene Mason, MBA.,  Board-certified Pediatric Nephrologist and attending physician at CT Children's Medical Center (2019) Jamaica
Dr. Gary V. Desir, Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine and Chief of Internal Medicine at Yale-New Haven (2018) Haiti
Juan Castillo, 94.3 WYBC Radio Announcer and Director of Urban programming and Director of Operations (2018)
Michael "Bojangles" Howell, Promoter of Jamaican Music & Culture (2017) Jamaica
Dr. Taneisha Grant, Gastroenterologist at Gastroenterology Center of Connecticut (2017) Jamaica
Hon. Berita Rowe-Lewis, Elected Town Official, Town of Hamden (2016) Jamaica
Dr. Iline P. Tracey, Interim Superintendent, New Haven Public Schools (2016) Jamaica
Norman Forrester, CRPC, First VP & Sr. Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch (2015) Jamaica
Paula Vassell,  Agape Children's Ministries Learning Center & Lighthouse Christian Academy (2015) Jamaica
Mr. Garfield Pilliner, M.S. 2013-14 New Haven Public School Teacher of the Year (2014) Jamaica
Dr. Maysa Akbar, Ph.D., ABPP, Integrated Wellness Group (2014) Dominican Republic
Mr. Neville Wisdom, Founder, NW Fashion Design Studio (2013) Jamaica
Mrs. Ena Williams, MBA,RN, CNEP, Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) Yale-New Haven Hospital (2013) Jamaica
The West Indian Social Club of Hartford (2012)
Cedella Marley, Singer, Actress, Author and Humanitarian (2012)
Ms. Janice Hart, Cultural Icon, Performer and Pastor (2012)
Ms. Yvette Hamilton, New Haven Alderwoman (2012)
Mr. George Gorden Sr., Third World Café (2012)
Mr. Gary Moore, James Hillhouse High Track Coach (2011)
Ms. Euannie Catnott, Mother’s Kitchen (2011)

bottom of page